Download exclusive mixes from the best DJs, selectors teachers and other preachers.
Grant Phabao & Djouls - African Mashed Potato Popcorn Vol.2
Grant Phabao and Djouls - African Mashed Potato Popcorn Vol.2
(MP3 Podcast on T.I.M.E.C. TIMEC114, 2006-07-31

Info :
Our second volume of afro grooves from around the world gathers some rare Nigerian funk from the Ikenga Super Stars Of Africa, The Funkees, One World and Ofege. You can now go hunting for the LPs on Ebay... We've also stumbled upon an incredible UK pressing of an LP called "The Body Music" from a band called Afro Funk which we think is from Ghana. If you have more info on this please share it with us cos' those african beats & soul have been playing repeatedly on our stereo for days now! Oddities come from Karl Denson, former sax player from late 90's US retro-funk band The Greyboy Allstars, the closing track from his fire-smoking funk album "the Bridge" from 2004 is an afrobeat monster we couldn't not play. For vinyl addicts, the track is available on a glorious 12 inch thanks to Adrian Gibson's Freestyle Records little label (UK). You will also hear that we've been diggin deep in our own crates, with "Wilderness", a track from Manu Dibango issued on a rare 1972 library album... and then reissued by our friend Manu Boubli on the mighty "Racubah" compilation. The mix closes with a sunny piece of African pop from Ghanean Kelenkye Band that should leave you eargerly waiting for a third volume of "African Mashed Potato Popcorn"... coming soon on your favorite Podcast!

Tracklisting :
01. The Funkees - Mimbo
(from 'Now I'm A Man' album, 1976 / EMI) NIGERIA
02. Ikenga Super Stars of Africa - Ojele Woman
(from 'Greedy Man' album, 1977 / Decca) NIGERIA
03. Afro Funk - Farewell to Ibusa
(from 'The Body Music' album, 1973 / Kabana) GHANA
04. One World - Happy People
(from 'Peace' album, 1974 / EMI) NIGERIA
05. Karl Denson's Tiny Universe - Elephants
(from 'The Bridge' album, 2002 / Relaxed) USA
06. Ofege - Gbe Mi Mo
(from 'Try And Love' album, 1973 / EMI) NIGERIA
07. Manu Dibango - Safari Fun
(from 'African Voodoo' library album, PSI) FRANCE
08. Kelenkye Band - Dracular Dance
(from 'Moving World' album, 1974 / Emporium) GHANA

Original Covers :
Available on

Credits :
Selected by Djouls & Calumbinho, mixed by Grant Phabao (T.I.M.E.C.)
Artwork by Djouls
Direct download: Grant_Phabao_and_Djouls-African_Mashed_Potato_Popcorn_Vol2.mp3
Category:T.I.M.E.C. DJs -- posted at: 9:11pm EDT

Manu Boubli - Free Soul Vol.1
Manu Boubli - Free Soul Vol.1
(MP3 Podcast on Comet/Mind, 2006-07-28

Tracklisting :
01. Melvin Van Peebles - Mirror Mirror On The Wall
(from 'Brer Soul', 1969 / A&M Records)
02. Bill Hardman, Hilton Ruiz, Junior Cook & Steve Turre - Spirits Up Above
(from 'Vibration Society: The Music Of Rahsaan Roland Kirk', 1986 / Stash Records)
03. Billy Parker's Fourth World - Get With It
(from 'Freedom Of Speech', 1975 / Strata East Records)
04. Newban - Free Your Mind
(from 'Newban 2', 1977 / Guinness Records)
05. Larry T. & The Family - I'm Movin' On
(from 'I'm Movin' On', 1979 / Let Music And Recording)
06. Black Sugar - When I Needed Someone
(from 'Black Sugar', 1971 / South Eastern Records)
07. Doug Hammond & David Durrah - Wake Up Brother
(from 'Reflections In The Sea Of Nurnen', 1975 / Tribe Records)
08. The Positive Force Featuring Ade Olatunji - The African In Winter
(from 'Oracy', 1977 / Pamoja Records)

Original covers :
Available on

Info :
Selected and mixed by Manu Boubli (Comet/Mind)
Photo from Manu Boubli archives. Artwork by Djouls
Direct download: Manu_Boubli-Free_Soul_Vol1.mp3
Category:Mind DJs -- posted at: 4:43pm EDT

Loik - P Is The One
Loik - P Is The One
(MP3 Podcast on Kraked, 2006-07-17

Tracklisting :
01. Parliament - P-Funk (Wants To Get Funked Up)
(from 'Mothership Connection' album, 1975 / Casablanca)
02. Fuzzy Haskins - Not Yet
(from 'Radio Active' album, 1978 / Westbound)
03. Ruth Copeland - Suburban Family Lament
(from 'I Am What I Am' album, 1971 / Invictus)
04. Parliament - All Your Goodies Are Gone
(from 'Up For The Down Stroke' album, 1974 / Casablanca)
05. Funkadelic - Loose Booty
(from 'America Eats Its Young' album, 1972 / Westbound)
06. Parliament - The Bing Bang Theory
(from 'Gloryhallastoopid' album, 1979 / Casablanca)

Original covers :
Available on

Info :
Selected and mixed by Loik (Kraked)
Artwork by Fourmy [+ Djouls]
Direct download: Loik-P_Is_The_One.mp3
Category:Kraked DJs -- posted at: 12:06pm EDT