Download exclusive mixes from the best DJs, selectors teachers and other preachers.
Grant Phabao Live Soul System - Dubtape Vol.1

Grant Phabao Live Soul System - Dubtape Vol.1
(MP3 Podcast on 2012-01-21

After producing albums and hit singles with Studio One's legends The Lone Ranger, Carlton Livingston, The Jays, The Silvertones, Parisian dubmeister Grant Phabao was given the Jamaican stamp of approval of "the producer who brings back the original Lee Perry and King Tubby sounds with a modern twist". Phabao expanded his output with roots jamaican remixes for artists such as Alice Russell, Nostalgia 77 or Quantic (Tru Thoughts), Ty (Big Dada), George Clinton… and spectacular mashups and bootlegs: Cee-Lo, Q-Tip, Roots Manuva, Erykah Badu, Jurassic 5, Marvin Gaye, among others, were given the unique Grant Phabao treatment for extended dancefloor pleasure! He's now presenting his first live dub mixing experience with the help of long time collaborator DJ The Dreadless Soldier (aka Erik Rug), the GRANT PHABAO SOUL SYSTEM, a DJ set spiced up with hip hop, dub and a whole lot of echo. This is the volume one of their Dubtape series out of three and the duo is now available for booking thru Paris DJs!

Tracklisting :
01. The Lone Ranger - Intro
02. Grant Phabao and The Jays - The Going is Tough
(exclusive, from 'Stepping Up In Time' upcoming album, 2012 / Paris DJs)
03. Erykah Badu - Honey (Grant Phabao boot)
(from the Paris DJs virtual releases series, 2009 / Paris DJs)
04. Grant Phabao and The Lone Ranger - Super Duper Knotch
(from 'Sweet Talking' album, 2010 / Colored-Inc.)
05. Alice Russell - Humankind (Grant Phabao tuff 'n uff skank starring The Lone Ranger)
(from 'Shapes 08:01' compilation, 2008 / Tru Thoughts)
06. Mr Vegas feat. Alozade and Hollow Point - Under Me Sensi (Grant Phabao boot)
(from the Paris DJs virtual releases series, 2009 / Paris DJs)
07. Antipop Consortium - Lay Me Down (Grant Phabao remix)
(unreleased remix, only played in 'Ninja Tune, 20 Years of Remixes and Re-Interpretations' mix, 2010 / Paris DJs)
08. Marvin Gaye - Sexual Healing (Grant Phabao boot)
(unreleased remix)
09. Q-Tip - Work It Out (Grant Phabao boot)
(from the Paris DJs virtual releases series, 2009 / Paris DJs)
10. Ocote Soul Sounds and Adrian Quesada - Tu Fin, Mi Comienzo (Grant Phabao remix)
(from 'Coconut Rock Deuxe Edition' album, 2009 / Eighteen Street Lounge)
11. Grant Phabao and Afrodyete - I Got To Be Free
(from 'Black Magic - Hard 2 Find Vol.5' album, 2010 / Colored-Inc.)
12. Big Daddy Kane - Give A Demonstration Part.2 (Grant Phabao boot)
(from the Paris DJs virtual releases series, 2009 / Paris DJs)
Total time : 30:15

All the original cover artworks are available on the Paris DJs blog

Credits :
Selected and mixed by the Grant Phabao Live Soul System
Audio mastering by Grant Phabao (
Artwork by Djouls, Erik Rug, Fourmy, Grant Phabao

Links :
Grant Phabao : official | facebook | myspace | parisdjs
Erik Rug : facebook | myspace | soundcloud | tumblr | twitter
Booking : Djouls / Paris DJs email
Paris DJs : official | facebook | myspace | parisdjs | soundcloud | twitter | youtube

Direct download: Grant_Phabao_Live_Soul_System-Dubtape_Vol_1.mp3
Category:T.I.M.E.C. DJs -- posted at: 10:33am EST